Vice President of India

Vice President of India | Shri Venkaiah Naidu

Shri Venkaiah Naidu

About Shri Venkaiah Naidu

Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu, (born 1 July 1949) is the 15th and current Vice-President of India. While he is the 15th Vice President, he is the 13th person to hold the constitutional post. His predecessor Hamid Ansari and the first Vice President S Radhakrishnan had held the post for two consecutive terms.He served as the Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Urban Development and Information and Broadcasting in the Modi Cabinet. A prominent leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he also served as its national president from 2002 to 2004. Earlier, he was the Union Cabinet Minister for Rural Development in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. He took oath as 15th Vice-President of India on 11th August 2017 at Darbar Hall, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.

Before assuming charge of the office of the 14th President of India on July 25, 2017, Shri Kovind served as the 36th Governor of the state of Bihar from August 16, 2015, to June 20, 2017.

Early life and education

Naidu was born on 1 July 1949 at Chavatapalem, in the Nellore district of the Indian State of Andhra Pradesh. He completed schooling from V. R. High School, Nellore, and pursued his bachelor's degree in politics and diplomatic studies from V. R. College. Later, he acquired a bachelor's degree in law with the specialisation in international law from Andhra University College of Law, Visakhapatnam. He was a swayamsevak in the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh and joined ABVP during his college days. He was elected as the president of the student’s union of colleges affiliated to the Andhra University. He came into the spotlight for his prominent role in the Jai Andhra Movement of 1972. While Kakani Venkata Ratnam led the movement from Vijayawada, Naidu took active part in the agitation in Nellore, until it was called off a year later.

Vice President’s Secretariat
Parliament House, New Delhi-110001
Phone : +91 11 23019326, 23017314
Fax : +91 11 23792821
Email :

Vice President's Secretariat Directory
name designation contact fax email address
Dr. I.V. Subba RaoSecretary to the Vice-Presclassent of IndiaOff : 23017210 , 23016422 , 23016344 -secyvp@nic.in6, Maulana Azad Road, New Delhi , Delhi-110011
Shri Ashok DewanJoint SecretaryOff : +91 11 23793478, +91 11 23018471
Dr. N. YuvarajPrivate SecretaryOff : +91 11 23016344, 23016422 -n.yuvaraj36@ias.nic.inNo.329, Type-
Shri Yadav Satya KumarOFFICER ON SPECIAL DUTYOff : 23016422 ,23016344 -osd-vpi@nic.in30, Mahadev Road , New Delhi , Delhi
Shri Arvind KapoorUnder SecretaryOff : 23018684 , 24640471  -ddo-vps@nic.in9/734, Lodhi Colony, New Delhi ,Delhi-110003
Smt. Hurbi ShakeelUnder SecretaryOff : 23022322  -hurbi.shakeel@nic.in14/848, Lodhi Colony , New Delhi ,New Delhi-110003
Smt. Pranathi Bhargavi P.Assistant Private SecretaryOff : 23017124 ---
Shri Pawan Singh BistSection OfficerOff : 23017124 --
Smt. Sarita ChauhanSection OfficerOff : 23018684
Copyright 2018 | All right reserved